Home > Uncategorized > 2009, here we come

2009, here we come

Hello everyone.

I know I haven’t kept my promises and haven’t started to blog regularly.

You see, 2008 has been a challenging year. Not a vintage year by my standards.  I mean in term of works. We won  a couple of pitches, like COI at BBH and Nokia N series with WK London, yet, I haven’t managed to work on anything that actually got produced. So when I look back at2008, there is nothing I can point to in term of work. It’s the first time this situation happens to me.

Even worse, I had my first planner’s block at the end of the year. Couldn’t crack a project. As it happens, it was a very big project, the chance to do a hugely exciting global campaign and I let it slip through.  Someone else had to crack it. That kind of hurts.

The funny thing is that I completely ignored what I’ve been preaching here. As the saying goes, the shoe maker is always the one with the worse shoes.

I tried to jump to an idea without having done the mandatory research and had stopped continually looking for inspiration. Point is, for the first time in my career, I ran out of idea. Oh wel, it had to happen at some point.

Anyway. You live and learn, I will try to make 2009 a more successful year workwise. I have got some great opportunities at WK to work on some great accounts with some of the best creative minds, so it should be possible!

But it has been pretty work intensive, hence why my blogging has stopped. I will try my best to carry on writing.

I also found it slighlty hard to settle in Amsterdam. I have to admit to missing the buzz, energy and stimulation of London. I’m actually writing that from the London. Seems that London energizes  me (for the record, I don’t smoke pot!).

If nothing 2008 has actually been the year of this blog. I got about 40,000 views, mentions on numerous blogs and got even printed in campaign in the best of the blogs section. What more could you possibly want? I got some pretty good ideas as well as a result of forcing me to write. So it ain’t all bad!

Alright, enough waffling for now. Let’s get back to work.

Happy new year.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 14, 2009 at 5:44 am

    have a great year, you’re a big inspiration!

  2. January 14, 2009 at 1:36 pm

    2009 is gonna be full of new opportunities, but only if want it. so, go!

  3. January 14, 2009 at 1:59 pm

    Loving the honesty of this post. When so many blogs are just bollocks, it’s good to see real honesty written. Good luck matey

  4. dave roberts
    January 16, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    good to have you back dear boy.

  5. January 19, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Hello!

    Good to read you again.
    So you mean you are only human… well it’s refreshing to acknowledge that isn’t it.
    And well done for learning Spanish.

    And whenever you are in London it would be cool to catch up!

    • Digicynic
      January 20, 2009 at 9:08 am

      ha ha I guess. Normally even in worse situation, I always come out with the goods, not the best goods, but something we can use. It was my first planner’s block! at 30. Maybe I’m going senile or something.

  1. January 13, 2009 at 9:30 pm

Leave a Reply

