Home > random > Is the new batman really the best movie ever made?

Is the new batman really the best movie ever made?

I love my movies. I have been sucribing to the DVD movie services like LoveFilm for years. I love it.

Playing and tweaking my list all the time.

But then I realised I started becoming obsessed with checking the ratings of movies on the IMDB.

It’s quite simple, I won’t rent or watch a movie that’s got under 7/10.

I check them all, before putting them on my list. Anything under 7 is normally not worth watching. Everytime I did, I regretted it.

Even if you don’t always agree with the ratings, they are still the best indicator of the quality of a movie that you can find on the Internet. I find it certainly more reliable than Metacritic, which I disagree with pretty much all the time.

So back to Batman, it’s currently topping the list of the 250 best movies ever with a score of 9.4 out of 10. Apparently better than the The Shawshank Redemption or The Godfather. And that, after more than 140,000 people voted for it. Which is pretty amazing.

I’m still to find a similar service for music albums. The ratings on Amazon out of 5 starts are just not good enough. Every album end up having 4 stars.

Anyway, what’s my point? The widsom of crowds? Are #Internet ratings reliable? How the Internet has totally changed our media and entertainment consumption?

Nope.

Just that I’m pretty excited about watching the new batman. Seen it yet?

  1. Jacob
    July 29, 2008 at 7:11 am

    The fact that ‘Shawshank Redemption’ which is a prime piece of middlebrow swill gets rated so highly is good proof of the unwisdom of crowds. IMHO.

    (I won’t argue however that the list accurately reflects the fact that lots of people LIKE the Shawshank Redemption)

    See also the fact that people think this is one of the best presentations in the world:

    http://www.slideshare.net/mzkagan/what-the-fk-social-media

  2. July 29, 2008 at 11:47 am

    I’ve seen it. And yes, it is BLOODY BRILLIANT. If you are reading this and you haven’t seen it. Stop reading, tell you boss you just vom’ed in the loo and head straight to Leicester Sq. Risking being fired will be worth it.

  3. Digicynic
    July 29, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Ha Jacob, of the two of us, you should be the one called cynic 😉

  4. Stack
    July 30, 2008 at 6:09 pm

    Meh, it’s not the best film in the world. It’s half an hour too long and takes itself a bit too seriously for a film about a guy in a bat suit. Fizzles out a bit towards the end too. The joker, on the other hand, is fantastic.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

