Home > idea generation, random > Snubbing the UK

Snubbing the UK

I’m going to try a little experiment for the next few weeks.

I’m a firm believer that we are extremely influenced by what we read or the work we look at. That is why we end up with lots of ads using the same techniques or having the exact same idea. (Hence why I tried to tell people to stop being so obsessed with copying succesful work in all virals are black swan).

And why ‘thinkers’ have the same ideas and talk the same old rubbish. And probably the reason behind the fact that our start-up a let down.

Time to try something different. Most of the agencies I look up to come from the US of A. So does most of the work I admire. (and South America, but there is a language barrier).

So, for the following weeks, I will not be reading Campaign, (123rd take at why we should be ditching the pitch process anyone?). I will not be reading Scamp or Lunar, Ian, Russell, Richard, Amelia or any of my fellow British bloggers.

Instead, I’ll be virtually going to the States. I will only read Adage, David Armano, adfreaks, creativity online, and any other interesting blogs from the US (any suggestions?).

Let’s face it, we all have limited time and can’t be checking all the interesting blogs around. So I’m making the decision to focus only on the US ones and totally avoid the British ones for the maybe the month ahead.

And see if it gives me a fresher perspective on things.

Categories: idea generation, random
  1. June 9, 2008 at 10:37 am
  2. June 9, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Fuck the US – you should check out Asian blogs, because whether people like it or not – the World’s economic power and influence is returning to this part of the globe and so an appreciation of how the cultures think/act will be more beneficial than focusing on markets where – despite the odd exception – the viewpoints/output all tend to be the same.

    [Yes I know Asian culture is more about perfecting than innovating, however with the economic potential in the region – more and more companies are focusing on embracing the Asian consumer rather than relying on the outdated belief they will simply buy whatever the West thinks is cool/popular]

    Not only that, but given Asia knows Western Culture better than the West understands the East, I genuinely believe there will be a time where global accounts get run from this part of the World and when that happens, the shit is going to hit the proverbial!

    How are you by the way? Good?

    Sorry for my aggressive tone – jetlagged. Again. 🙂

  3. Digicynic
    June 9, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Hi Rob,

    Long time…

    I had thought about going Asian, but I didn’t know where to start, apart from yours, but you are English, so you only half qualify.
    Would you be so kind as to introduce me to the best asian ad literature?

    Also, not sure whether the quality of the work is there yet? I’m a self confessed ignorant here.

    I’m fine thanks.

    When are you coming to homeland then? Me and Gwyn are waiting for you.

  4. June 9, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    http://paulisakson.typepad.com/

    I like Paul’s line of thinking most of the time.

  5. June 10, 2008 at 2:26 am

    Errrrrm, does your blog take time before putting up the comments as I’ve just written a big one with blog suggestions and everything …

  6. June 10, 2008 at 2:44 am

    It doesn’t want to accept it – or it’s putting it straight into your ‘trash/spam’ file [wise choice]

    I’ve emailed you a list of things you may find of use.

    Speak soon.

    R

  7. Ronojoy
    June 12, 2008 at 8:39 am

    See how easy it is to forget! Front page drawing you in…

  8. Digicynic
    June 12, 2008 at 9:01 am

    Yes you got me there, I was drawn in by the win. Sure to make a few people quite excited here.
    But you stopped me just in time! Phew.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

