Home > advertising campaign > Coke zero vs coke zero vs er… coke zero

Coke zero vs coke zero vs er… coke zero

If you are living in the UK, you might have been exposed to that (you probably wish you didn’t) :

What is it ad saying I don’t have a clue. Just another ad with a bit of budget that’s got nothing to say.

So funny isn’t? This ad manages to say nothing. It leaves me emotion-less. Why would one invest money in an ad that makes no sense whatsoever and doesn’t even appeal to people on an emotional level? It fails on both accounts: there isn’t any narrative, and it’s not spectacular either.

I don’t understand why they don’t try to drive traffic to the coke zero online game either. Seems like a wasted opportunity. Maybe I’m just totally missing the obvious.

I don’t have time for a rant, but this morning I bumped into these ads, which are a year old, from the CP+B group.

And they made me laugh. In an absurd kind of way, I thought they were 100 times better than this puerile ad. A lot wittier. They are probably not the perfect answer for a product that’s always struggled to find it’s own voice, but at least, it’s a step in the right direction.

But then, as Cedric reminded me, they’ve done some very weird ones for Europe.

Much better than the first one, visually arresting and as Cedric says, at least it’s making a point about the product. But very odd… And puerile again. It is actually from W+K Amsterdam.

3 ads, 3 markets, great agencies, but no one seems to be able to crack the Coke Zero… I wonder why.

Categories: advertising campaign Tags:
  1. April 21, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Have you seen the mainland Europe executions where humanised organs are interacting about Coke zero:
    – the eye saying that this is not a coke
    – the tongue that it is
    – the finger that it is fresh and feels like a coke bottle
    – etc.
    I think Strawberry Frog is behind it. I felt uneasy at first, but at least these ads were saying something. I am inline with you the new creative. Crap expensive and useless commercials. An attempt to bring some emotional association, but we are way off from Do the Dew for instance, or Tango.

  2. Digicynic
    April 21, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    Hi Cedric, thanks for that, I have adapted the post accordingly…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

