Home > advertising campaign > love and hate

love and hate

Here are 2 brands that I have come to love or hate just via their advertising.

The one I have come to love is Skittles. Here’s the latest installment for their new chocolate Skittles Pinata.

Here are the old ones, always worth another watch:

This quirky sense of humour makes me just love them. I can’t help it. So weird and fantastical. Liking them almost makes me feel part of a club. The ones who get it. Because you feel like most people wouldn’t like them. It’s not for everyone.

The one brand I have come to hate is Nivea men. They just can’t make it more patronising than they currently are. Every ad I see from them, just make me cringe. And I’m spot on the target audience and I know their products are great. But the ads, the ads, HAA! What the hell is going on with them?

The current campaign in the UK is about their new shaving product. The new Nivea range ‘makes shaving extremely pleasurable’ (that’s the line), so men start shaving their heads or their chest. I feel sick.

But it carries on online! Aint we lucky us people? They have integrated the whole thing! So when you go on their website, here, you are being shown an extra footage of the dude who shaved his head for the ad… Turns out he called his agent because he didn’t know he had to shave his head… and he doesn’t want to do it because… his head might be sore the next day. (pause). But then, he ends up doing it and guess what????? He loves it the arrogant tit he his.

Or this one for men who ‘knows what a good investment looks like’ and where you are treated to an interactive 360 degree picture of a man looking way too satisfied with himself because he got a million pounds bonus working in the city. I suspect he might touch himself while looking at his own reflection.

I WANT TO BE HIM!

There is a lot worse from them but I can’t seem to find them on Youtube (someone?). There is this one where the guy opens up his Nivea product with a lighter, like he would with a beer. Because that’s just what we do guys. It helps us feeling manly. Thinking of it, I actually open up everything I can with a lighter. Milk, coffee, coke bottles… It’s not very practical, but boy, it boosts my testosterone level to the roof. Thank you Nivea for this true insight into my life.

The sad truth is that I actually use some of these products because they are great but I’m seriously starting to reconsider.

  1. March 30, 2008 at 11:03 pm

    Can I take this post off tangent a little bit …

    What about those brands you love and then when you get to work with them [in an agency/client kinda relationship] you find them so petty, small minded, unimaginative, non-collaberating that it fundamentally changes your love of that brand forever?

    It’s happened to me quite recently and we’re just about to fire them – not just because they behave like spoilt 5 year olds with all the marketing nous of a gnat, but because I just don’t want to feel all the love and dreams I had for this brand were pointless.

    Am I the only one who feels this way?

    Given the consistent work Skittles are doing, I presume they would be a good client to work with – but as for Nivea, haha!

  2. Digicynic
    March 31, 2008 at 9:48 am

    That’s very interesting. I don’t think it’s ever happened to me but I can see where you are coming from. That must be so weird to work for a brand you love, ready to give your 110%, but they’d behave like arrogants fools, ruining everything. Hum. At least, their must be some satisfaction in producing good work in the end? Despite all the frustration?

  3. Rob
    April 1, 2008 at 12:33 am

    Absolutely there’s satisfaction – the sad part is often the only happy people are the agency and the customers because whatever way you cut it, the client doesn’t give a shit – which is why they are now being told ‘bye bye’ and sadly, I don’t regret it one little bit.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

