Home > advertising campaign > Burst vs Balls

Burst vs Balls

Spot the differences between that ad for Schweppes called ‘burst’:

(found on punk planning)

And the classic Balls for Sony.

Ok, there aren’t many. Both trying to recreate a spectacular viewing experience as a metaphor for their product benefit, using the same slow-mo technique.

The main difference being balloons / balls I hear you say?

Not only. The big difference, for me, is that Balls turned something really few people had seen before and made it into an epic, taking everyone by surprise.  Schweppes turned something many people had seen before (balloons exploding in slow-mo) and used in on TV. And it was after balls. Hence why one was a black swan and the other one a white swan wanna be black.

  1. Rob
    March 19, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    I absolutely see why you would say that – however I don’t believe it’s a direct copy, certainly not compared to some of the stuff like Guinness vs Honda – plus there’s a genuine insight behind the executional idea as opposed to the albeit brilliant Balls – which is SONY Bravia Colour TV’s can show colour.

    Mind you I would say that wouldn’t I – but to be fair to me, at least I don’t deny it …http://robcampbell.wordpress.com/2008/03/06/schhhh-you-dont-know-who/

  2. Digicynic
    March 19, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    Hi Rob,

    Thanks for that. I didn’t say I didn’t like it. As you say, much better than what they have done before. Just that the ‘execution’ bears too much similarity with Balls, for it to become a black swan.

    But it’s good advertising nonetheless.

    I think I actually like your thinking more than the actual execution.

  3. Digicynic
    March 19, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    It reminded me too much of that

    From 1m36s.
    It’s beautiful though. Everything is beautiful in slow mo.

  4. Rob
    March 19, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    Hahaha … you can be evil to me if you want, you should see the shit I give people, if I can’t take it I shouldn’t be giving it … but hopefully you’ll like our work for Virgin, it has not been influenced by anything or anyone. Well, not that the creatives have admitted to me yet 🙂

  5. Digicynic
    March 19, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I’m not being evil! Where did I say I didn’t like it?

  6. Digicynic
    March 19, 2008 at 2:43 pm
  7. Digicynic
    March 19, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    I’ll even go with a compliment, I’ve been reading your blog for quite quite some time now. Hadn’t been on it for a little while obviously, otherwise I’d have spotted it.

  8. Rob
    March 19, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    I’ve just worked out who you are …

    One of your companies most senior people was talking to me about you recently and now here I am discussing things on your blog, mental!

    Don’t worry, it was all good – lets face it, most BBH people are going to be of a pretty good standard aren’t they? Well, all but one person I met at the World Effies but we’ll keep that between you and me eh, ha!

    If you read my blog you’ll know my views on lowest common denominator planning plus you’ll also know I hold my hands up when I don’t think it’s as good as I hoped/wanted [as I did with the Schweppes ad even though I still stand by it] … however I think we also need to remember it takes two to make things great and often the potential of creative work is limited as much by the attitude of the client as it is the agency and planners ability to do good and interesting stuff.

    Lets face it, the BA work from your company is hardly setting the World alight is it however is that BBH’s fault? Of course not … however in adland, we tend to evaluate stuff more by the agency who did it rather than appreciating the role the client has in letting something great happen.

    When I worked on Tango the only reason we got to do the work we did was because we had a client who let us and understood the business reasons behind the strat. [Well, it also had a lot to do with Trev and Al, but that’s another story]

    For me, the issue is less about the quality of creative talent out there and more to do with the lack of quality interms of [1] selling great thinking/work and [2] middle-management marketing people – but hey, you work on LG so I’m sure you’ll know all about that 🙂

    [That’s come out as a dig, it’s not – it’s just I had the worst ever experience of my advertsing career with those guys so I rate anyone who can do good stuff with them. Saying that, I saw a doco by TBWA for some LG thing in Asia and it was single-handidly the worst thinking and idea I have ever seen – which sort of backs up my point of the importance of a good, open-minded, none-executionally focused client!]

  9. Rob
    March 19, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Besides, even if I wanted to, I could never hate you – your blog name is close to my company name isn’t it 🙂

  10. Digicynic
    March 19, 2008 at 3:22 pm

    Well, there aren’t many French engagement planners at BBH 😉
    And I totally agree with you on the rest.

  11. Rob
    March 19, 2008 at 3:40 pm

    Yes, I’m a bit thick to only have just worked that out – which is a sign for me to hit the hay, speak soon matey!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

