Home > Uncategorized > Apologies

Apologies

I crossed the line with a recent post yesterday.

I have now deleted it. And I’m making my apologies to Alon for thinking he was a spammer when he was not!

 It made me realise how easy it is to be too hasty in criticising other people’s work.

Even if I tried to keep the criticism constructive, it is just so tempting to have a bit of a rant.

My intention when I started my blog was to write down my thoughts and share them with the blogging community, not to upset people.

There is enough bad feelings in this industry and I certainly don’t want to make it worse.

So from now on, I’ll keep those bad thoughts for myself and focus on the positive.

I might blog a little less as a result of that but that can’t be a bad thing.

Apologies if I have upset anyone.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Cammy
    March 20, 2008 at 11:17 am

    Wow. Very noble of you and you certainly have more restraint than most of us. However, the thought that this may restrict you from singling out crap terrifies me. This is your god given duty and keep the industry on its toes.

  2. Digicynic
    March 20, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Actually I think you are right.
    I was having a very bad day yesterday.

    It is however so easy to mock people’s work without knowing the context or the circumstance of the project, as Rob pointed out yesterday. We’d all love to do great stuff but sometimes it just doesn’t happen for many reasons we can’t always control.

    When I look at Scamp’s comment section, i feel a little worried. So much ill-feeling, hatred and insecurity.

    I didn’t create this blog to make me new enemies, nor did I want to be perceived as an arrogant prick slagging everyone off. But I certainly want to keep saying what I think. I’ll keep being constructive. This is not about the people it’s about the work, which is ultimately what the consumers see.

    The Lynx campaign did get some good and bad comments, but some of it was actually true and will only make me better and more determined to do great work.

    I don’t want to fall into the other trap, where everything is rosy and nice.

    So I’ll keep on doing my thing.

  3. Cammy
    March 20, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    I bow down to your humility sir. You’re a better man than the rest of us. In terms of something which pissed me off recently (i think) it’s this film promo where the film company are trying to pass it off as reality. Basically it’s a prank and it’s pretty well executed but for me it raises some pretty serious ethical questions about whether this is taking viral marketing too far. Is it right that viewers (and children potentially!) who genuinely believe this ‘live’ stream to be real are then exposed to watching a man die on screen?? What if a user didn’t get to the end of the video where it is revealed to be a promo? For me this is definitely dodgy ground to be treading.

    The set-up is pretty contrived but it’s something about a webcam broadcaster growing a vine in his arm as an experiment so when you watch it you assume that that is all that you are going to see (i think! Its a pretty garbled piece of communication). See what you think… http://www.justin.tv/humanlabrat

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment