Home > Creativity, Ideas to be knicked, inspiration > Interactive Youtube Video

Interactive Youtube Video

Another proof you don’t have to have a lot of money to be clever on the web.

This dude has created a online media first; an interactive Youtube experience, on his own.

The goal is to find his lost cat. It’s a home made video, so as you’d expect, the quality is not very good, yet it managed to make me want to find it’s bloody cat I don’t give a damn about, despite this guy being pretty annoying. There is a video where you can decide to harm him, which I found quite satisfying.

Anyway, I diggress. This is a very interesting use of the ‘responses’in Youtube as a way to continue the adventure, add interactivity and allow the viewer to decide what happens next.

I’m already working on how to make it a great, just to make sure I’ll be the first to announce a Youtube branded experience. ;-)

Anyway, have a play. It is not without reminding me of some of my youth favourite books, the fighting fantasy series.

You need to be on Youtube to start playing it though. So you need to click the link below.

CHOOSE YOUR PATH – The game where YOU control my fate!

From the always excellent Behind the Buzz.

  1. June 4, 2008 at 7:23 am

    It’s funny… I’ve been working on a similar concept for a while now (for an upcoming film… not a cat hunt). This obviously proves the concept, as well as the often overlooked potential of using an accepted media in a different way…

    If we don’t move forward on this project, I’d be happy to share all of the thoughts and planning I’ve built along the way (just reach out to me via my blog). I want to see SOMEONE “make it great”, because there’s fun potential in this idea.

  2. Digicynic
    June 4, 2008 at 7:36 am

    The chances that I’m the first to get it done are pretty slim I reckon. I’d be really interested in hearing your thoughts about it, if you can that is.
    Really great blog btw. Great content and it’s much nicer than mine!
    Mind me asking who you work for?

  3. June 5, 2008 at 6:30 am

    What a difference a day makes! Just a few hours after that comment, YouTube launched their Video Annotation feature, which helps to solve a few of the key navigational challenges that I’ve been experimenting toward [it’ll be interesting to see if the video above goes back and tries to incorporate them].

    I just posted several thoughts about interactive video in general, and will circle back specifically on the “Choose Your Own” variety pending what becomes of this current project.

  1. August 1, 2008 at 1:05 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

